Yes, you read that right. A ballet.

I’m fairly recent to the Phish scene and fairly far away from the ballet scene. But as I was driving home from dance class last night, car-dancing to my favorite Phish jam so far – from “Harry Hood” to “Antelope” at their 12/05/2009 John Paul Jones Arena performance – I realized “Harry Hood” is the perfect ballet vehicle.

I could picture it all perfectly. I heard where the pas de deux started. I heard where corps de ballet came in. There’s a couple solos at varying paces for the lead ballet dancers. There is this fabulous gradual build-up and a chaotic, explosive conclusion.

I’ve been interested in choreographing to a jam band song for a while now. This song, specifically, is not right for a modern piece or even jazz-y choreography. It’s right for a ballet, no joke.

Here’s one version of Phish’s Harry Hood. What do you think? Ballet-worthy?

