What if dance was like music?

What if trained dancers were as abundant as trained musicians?

What if self-taught dancers were as well-respected as self-taught musicians?

What if every music video was a piece of choreography, with less short-attention-span cuts and more artistry?

What if dance was performed on street corners, in subway stations, around the campfire and at school pep rallies as much as music?

What if the male dancer were as stereotypically revered as sensitive and sexy as the male acoustic guitarist?

I love music. I love people who love music. I love musicians. Music is behind every dance decision I make. And music is just such an easily accessible part of our culture – I have smart conversations about music 80 times a day. I hope we can make dance the same way one day in our culture!

